We’re excited to announce a major change to SIM Dojo, allowing hosts to specify the users who should re-approve expired documents.
This will mean that the right people, and only the right people, will be contacted to re-approve previously expired documents. Removing unnecessary workflow steps and reducing confusion.
Turning it on
A new SIM Setting has been added within the Workflow panel for activating this functionality. Users with admin permissions will see ‘Allow Simplified Expired Document Process’ set to false by default and can flick it to true to activate the new feature.
As this functionality targets expired documents, it is on these questions that the workflow can be configured. Where a Document Upload question is selected and assigned an expiry date, the new options will appear underneath.
For this question, you can then select the assignee re-approver for when the document is reuploaded after expiry. By default the ‘who’ setting will be set as ‘Full Reapproval’ meaning that in order to return to a Document Status of ‘Current’ the participant must go through the full approval set process, as was previously always the case. But in most cases, the re-uploaded document is only relevant to a team or individual within the business, which is where the new approval options come in.
Users can select for either the participant owner, or a host group to be nominated for the document re-approval. In the case of a host group, it is also possible to enforce the selection of an individual, which is done at the invite stage and ensures that accurate responsibility is assigned.
Host Group Individual Assignment
If the host group option has been selected, for each participant an individual from the group can be assigned, or must be if the setting has been set as such.
This can be done at the invitation stage or from the participant supplier details tab.
In both cases, if the same group is a part of the assigned approval set the nomination will be taken as the same value.
The person or group responsible is then shown against the relevant question and the document on the documents tab.
When a Document is Resubmitted
After a document expires and the supplier provides an updated version, if the document is scored, the scorer will be notified of the need to review. It is after this point that the new workflow will kick in.
For a host group assigned document, the whole group, or nominated individual, will receive an ‘Invitation for reapproval’ email, clearly distinguished from the initial approval emails. When accessing the participant the approval options will appear against each question that has been re-answered.
If all of the documents that have been re-submitted are approved by the nominated approvers, the participant will return to a Document Status of ‘Current’ without the need for any other intervention.
If one of the documents is rejected by the host group member, the final responsibility will then fall on to the participant owner.
They will see the document that has been rejected and have two options on how to proceed, these options will also be shown if they were assigned the document directly.
The decision could be made to overrule the rejection from the host group member, which will complete the process for this document, or the supplier could be required to upload a new version of the document via ‘allow re-sub’. This will only open up the option to resubmit this question individually, rather than the questionnaire as a whole.
Supplier Status Migration
We know that making a change such as this requires absolute certainty, so we have dedicated a lot of time to ensure that existing suppliers migrate over to the new workflow seamlessly.
The actions tab has been updated in line with these changes, and now all document re-approvals responsibilities can be see from the Document Reapproval Needed widget.